Posted by: vivalatinamerica | February 25, 2010

Dressing For Ecuador – I’ve Got To Get Some Appropriate Clothes

You know, it’s not easy packing for Latin America.  It’s so varied in terms of climate.  Actually, I’m going to admit my ignorance right away and acknowledge packing tons of skirts and tops, but only two pairs of trousers, one jumper and no jeans.  I did bring hiking boots – good thing, too – but no covered shoes that you can actually wear in decent company.

I made do in the chilly mountain air of Bogota and Monteverde, largely by pinching Rob’s jumper which is actually designed to keep you warm, unlike mine, which is from Zara and is designed to look nice.  I wore leggings under trousers once or twice.  I improvised.  But as mentioned a couple of posts ago, when you get up into the high altitudes of Ecuador, no amount of improvisation is going to cut it.  There’s no getting away from the fact that you need proper clothes.  Unfortunately, the most “proper” thing I owned was a ski jacket… for which I forgot the hood.  Clever.

So all along the Quilotoa circuit and up at the high altitudes I was completely freezing to death and wishing I had managed to pack something vaguely appropriate.  And today, being the productive person I am, I’ve actually been browsing the North Face site which contains all the jackets that I should have, but don’t.  One day I will equip myself properly, I promise.  And then, you never know, maybe I’ll be able to keep out the rain, wind and general freezingness on top of mountains.  And my ears won’t get a combo of sun and wind burn.

Soon, thank heaven, we’ll be off to Guayaquil and the coast, which I’m told are all about the intense humidity and general beach action.  But until then I’m going to be wearing and re-wearing the same clothes over and over again, in a bid to keep warm.  So consider this a warning: Parts of Latin America are beyond cold.  Wrap up warm.


Responses

  1. […] summer in Panama. But it can get really cold out west near the mountains, so I hear. I’ve also read that Panamanians dress very neatly and don’t appreciate grunge. Since, […]


Leave a comment

Categories